Welcome to the reboot of GunslingerGaming's community! New & returning members will need to register an account to gain access to the new site. Be sure to add yourself to game Master Lists via your User Control Panel, write an Introduction, & send out those friend invites to each other!

Photography and camera advice

Moderators: Trail Guides, GS Advisor, Founder

dunkaroo69
GS Advisor
GS Advisor
Rank 12
Rank 12
Main Platform: XboxOne
Discord: 8319

Wed Dec 19, 2018 6:08 pm

I've been getting more and more into my photography lately. I currently have a Canon Rebel T5. Beginner stuff, I know, but it's worked for me for a couple years now. But as I learn and experiment more with exposure, composition, lighting, etc, I'm starting to definitely feel the limitations of my current DSLR. So I'm in the market for a new one. Only problem is, I can't decide which to get.

I'm looking for something in the intermediate category. I'm no professional by any means, but I would like something that I can grow and learn with for at least a few more years before upgrading to something super expensive with all the bells and whistles. I've narrowed my choices down to several different cameras and they are, in no particular order:

Canon EOS 80D
Canon EOS 77D
Sony Alpha A7
Nikon D7200
Fujifilm XT20

I've done some extensive research into all these cameras and have even done side by side comparisons. From what I've tested, the Nikon D7200, the XT20, and the Sony Alpha A7 are pretty amazing machines capable of some amazing pictures. I especially like the Sony for its full frame capabilities. One problem is I'd have to buy all new lenses for them (or the lens mount adapter) since all my lenses are Canon. Not a big deal, these are all pretty decently priced machines so I could add a couple lenses before checking out :D