Login with a social network:

Marvel Heroes Online

Discuss Marvel Heroes and team up with fellow GSers for some hack-and-slash action here!

Marvel Heroes Online

Postby Hohndo » Mon May 20, 2013 5:10 pm

I'm pretty surprised I haven't seen a thread on this, and I'll probably end up posting a thread in D3's forum to poke for interest as well.

This is a top down ARPG MMO similar to Diablo 3. In fact, the creator of Diablo and Diablo 2 David Brevik is leading this game. I am also friends with some of the developers that used to play (and develop) another MMO with me (I am not a developer..). This game will also be free-to-play and in a single instance there can be 25 heroes present at one time.

I have been part of the closed beta testing since January and since the NDA is lifted now I will do my best to share with you as much information as I can, my biggest factor now is finding time to write it all up, lol.

Now, I'm not giving the full list of heroes, that can be found on the website but there are 21 heroes in total with another 5 to go live sometime post-launch. As stupid as it sounds, you can have multiple of the same hero in the same world, but it actually works out pretty well. Costumes are what makes characters look different and considering there are hundreds of them, I'm positive that not everyone will look like a carbon-copy. Every hero is essentially it's own class if you are familiar with Diablo's class system, and most can be played in multiple different ways. They aren't as developed as Diablo's classes, and I'm sure this is by design because they have to make money somehow, lol.

The list:
https://marvelheroes.com/game-info/game ... eroes/grid

Marvel writers and artists have written and drawn the story and comic panels for this game. This game will not follow any current Marvel universe, it will essentially be it's own lore.